Time for change

warhol

For some reason, October is a particularly busy period for me every year. Pretty much all of my free time has been occupied so far this month and I’m pretty certain that’s not going to change until Halloween passes.

Amidst all of the busyness though, I’ve been thinking about things. That’s incredibly vague so let me be specific.

I think it’s about time we start talking about mental health.

And I don’t mean what is already being done by all of the amazing bloggers or the incredible charities out there. I mean actually talking to each other, helping each other out, and sharing our experiences to really start to make it a mainstream subject. Because I don’t know about you, but for all of the amazing work that’s being done, to me there is still a stigma about it that prevents us from talking about mental health as we would talk about anything else in life.

And we should because, whether we like it or not, it really is something that will always be present in life, and from the looks of things, mental health issues are going to be more common in the future than they are now.

If there’s anything that events like World Mental Health Day highlight is that there’s so many of us that have experienced mental health issues either personally or through someone we know.

How about we take the kind of communication and activity seen during events like World Mental Health Day and do it every day? If we start doing that, only then will the stigma that unfortunately still shrouds mental health be broken down and – hopefully – fewer people will be embarrassed to seek help and suffer because of it.

I think it’s time for a change.

Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

